Ashprington, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ashprington, Devon)

EnglandGotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Ashparington, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashprington, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coleridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union Totnes PLU
Registration District Totnes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1607
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Totnes
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASHPRINGTON (St. David), a parish, in the union of Totnes, hundred of Coleridge, Stanborough and Coleridge, and S. divisions of Devon, 3 miles (S. E.) from Totnes. This parish is intersected by the old road to Dartmouth, and washed by the Hareburne and the Dart.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ashprington, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Ashprington, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1597-1601


FMP 1610-1915 1610-1915



Abstracts of bishop's transcripts (1597-1602) are online at Internet Archive - free.[4]

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241306.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Ashprington on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 88-90. Date accessed: 18 June 2012.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.
  4. Roger Granville and W.E. Mugford, Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644 (Exeter: William Pollard and Co. Ltd., 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,919 times.