Ashton Under Hill, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Ashton Under Hill, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Transferred from Gloucestershire to Worcester in 1931
ASHTON-UNDER-HILL, a parish in the district of Evesham, and county of Gloucester; on the Ashchurch and Evesham railway, with a r. station, 5 miles SW of Evesham. Post Town, Beckford, under Tewkesbury.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformists and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection familysearch.org]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288779.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
WebsitesWorcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 20:41.
- This page has been accessed 1,090 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News