Ashton under Lyne St Peter, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ashton under Lyne St Peter, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashton under Lyne St Peter, Lancashire
St Peter's Church Ashton-Under-Lyne Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish records: 1824
Bishop's Transcripts: 1826
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Ashton-under-Lyne (St Peter) was a chapelry from 1799 within the parish of Ashton under Lyne St Michael, Lancashire. It is located at the western extremity of the town. St. Peter's Church is a rich specimen of the decorated style, erected in 1821. There are places of worship, and, generally, schools also, belonging to the Independents, Wesleyans, Independent Methodists, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Baptists, Stephenites, Latter-day Saints, and Israelites.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Ashton under Lyne St. Peter chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Ashton under Lyne St. Michael to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST PETER Chapelry (1826) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None 1840-1935 1825-1966
LOPC None 1891-1917 1839-1844
AC Various Yrs Various Yrs; Various Yrs
FREG None 1840-1882, 1891-1908 1825-1840, 1844-1849, 1853-1858
ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST MICHAEL PARISH (1596) Indexes (ancient parish containing ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST PETER Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1594-1843 1754-1837 1768-1892
LOPC None 1754-1844 1892-1908
AC 1594-1720 1594-1720 1594-1720


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Ashton under Lyne St. Peter and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ashton under Lyne St. Michael to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST MICHAEL PARISH page.


Part of the Family History Library's microfilm for this parish is digitized online under England, Lancashire – Cheshire – Yorkshire Parish Registers, 1603-1992 where it can be viewed for free.


Ashton-under-Lyne- St Peter
Banns-1887-1901- Archives L74
Baptisms-1824-1924- MFPR 1151
Baptisms-1924-1969- MFPR 1152
Baptisms Transcript-1824-1837- 929.342735 As(882)
Burials-1825-1853- MFPR 1160
Burials-1853-1860- MFPR 1161
Burials-1860-1865- MFPR 1161 or MFPR 1994
Burials-1865-1966- MFPR 1159 or MFPR 1994
Burials Transcript-1825-1837- 929.342735 As(882)
Marriages-1840-1875- MFPR 1153
Marriages-1875-1891- MFPR 1154
Marriages-1891-1908- MFPR 1155
Marriages-1908-1928- MFPR 1156
Marriages-1928-1941- MFPR 1157
Marriages-1942-1973- MFPR 1158

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Parish registers for St. Peter's Church, Ashton-under-Lyne, 1824-1966 Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives, Central Library in Manchester, England.Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: L 74/1/1/1-7; L 74/1/2/1-13; L 74/1/3/1-10; L 74/1/4/1.

Contents
Film
Baptisms, 1824-Apr. 1926.
FHL BRITISH Film
2355754 Items 3 - 9
Baptisms, Feb. 1926-1934. Marriages, 1840-Jan. 1891.
FHL BRITISH Film
2355755
Marriages, Feb. 1891-Dec. 1917.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2355759
Marriages, Dec. 1917-1949.
FHL BRITISH Film
2355760
Burials, 1825-Dec. 1860.
FHL BRITISH Film
2355761
Burials, Dec. 1860-1966. Banns, 1887-1901.
FHL BRITISH Film
2355762 Items 1 - 6

Graveyard inscriptions for St. Peter's Church, Ashton-under-Lyne, 1799-1962 Microfilm of original records at the Manchester Archives, Central Library in Manchester, England.Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: L 74/1/9/1-2.

Content
Film
Graveyard inscriptions, ca. 1799-1962 (sections A-L).
FHL BRITISH Film
2355762 Items 7 - 8


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306917.


Poor Law Unions

Ashton under Lyne, Lancashire, Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 90-96.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 22:50.
  • This page has been accessed 3,487 times.