Askøy, NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Askøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Askøy clerical district). Contains the parish registers of Askøy (Strudshavn) parish with Ask chapel. Askøy (Strudshavnwas divided from Domkirken in 1741, annexed under Fjell and divided from Sund clerical district in 1813. It was under the jurisdiction of the priest serving over St. Jørgens Hospital in 1819, and united with Fjell under Fjells and Askøens sognekall in 1842 where it stayed until 1871 when Fjell and Askøy became their own clerical districts. Included Laksevåg and Loddefjord parishes until 1915. Book 3 contains some christenings for Manger parish in Manger clerical district. Records available from 1842-1931. See also Sund
Images of digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Askøy/Askøy: 1826-1846, 1852-1881, 1899-1931
Askøy/Askøy, Fjell: 1815-1846
- 1664-1666 Census See Sund
- 1701 Census Askøy clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 122983 Item 2. It is online as a database at Digitalarkivet Manntal 1701 for Søndre Bergenhus amt.
- 1801 Census Sund clerical district included Askøy, Laksevåg, and Loddefjord parishes, which later became part of Fjell clerical district and even later part of Askøy clerical district. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 122983 Item 2. It is online as a database at Digitalarkivet 1801-telling for 1245 Sund.
- 1865 Census Fjell clerical district included Fjell, Askøy and Strudshavn parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 123071 Item 4. It is online as a database at Digitalarkivet 1865-telling for 1247 Askøen sogn (i Fjeld prgj.)
- 1875 Census Askøy clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Films 273495-273496. It is online as a database at Digitalarkivet Folketelling 1875 for Askøy (med Laksevåg)
- 1900 Census Askøy clerical district included Askøy, Laksevåg, and Loddefjord parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Films 274295-274-298. It is online as a database at Digitalarkivet 1900-telling for 1247 Askøens
- 1910 Census The 1910 census search at Digitalarkivet
- The census of 1865, 1875 (partial), 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center
From 1702-1848: Records are found in Nordhordaland, 1702-1910 judicial district.
1848-1895: Records are found in Midhordaland judicial district which was created from Nordhordaland.
1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Lysekloster were kept.
1773-1810: Clerical probate records are found in Nordhordaland Deanery.
- This page was last modified on 16 April 2015, at 14:40.
- This page has been accessed 2,264 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More