Askerswell, DorsetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.pngDorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Askerswell

Askerswell, Dorset
Type Civil parish
Ecclesiastical parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eggerton
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Bridport PLU
Registration District Bridport
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset


Contents

Parish History

ASKERSWELL, a parish in Bridport district, Dorset; on an affluent of the river Brid, 5 miles E of Bridport r. station. It has a post office under Bridport.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Askerswell, Dorset Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1550
1550
1550
Images
1550-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1722-1812 FindMyPast[6] 1560-1835 OnlineParishClerks 1587-1996 FindMyPast[7]
1731-1879 FreeREG[8] 1560-1835 Joiner[9] 1722-1812 FindMyPast[10]
1731-1879 OnlineParishClerks 1560-1812 FamilyRelatives[11] 1731-1879 OnlineParishClerks
1560-1812 TheGenealogist[12]
1560-1837 FindMyPast[13]
1572-1835 FreeREG[8]
1651-1750 FindMyPast[14]
1790-1812 Ancestry[15]


Askerswell, Dorset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[16]
Askerswell, Dorset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1731-1879
1572-1810, 1814-1835
1731-1837

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241337.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 03 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Dorset Baptism Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  8. 8.0 8.1 Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 15 April 2012.
  9. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 May 2012.
  10. 'Dorset Burial Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  11. 'Middlesex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  12. 'Dorset Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 21 May 2012.
  13. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  14. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 21 May 2012.
  15. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:52.
  • This page has been accessed 888 times.