Astley, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Astley)

England  Gotoarrow.png  ShropshireGotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Astley, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Astley, Shropshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Albrighton Division
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Atcham PLU
Registration District Atcham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695; For more records see Shrewsbury St Mary
Bishop's Transcripts: 1708
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shrewsbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Royal Peculiar of St Mary Shrewsbury
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASTLEY, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Mary, union of Atcham, liberties of Shrewsbury, N. division of Shropshire, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Shrewsbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Astley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
ASTLEY PARISH (1692) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1730-1812

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1692-1812
1692-1812
1692-1812
JOIN
1738-1812

MLOC 1692-1812
1692-1812
1692-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1813-1879 Marr 1830-1831 Bur 1813-1878

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474591.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 100-104. Date accessed: 01 May 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 April 2014, at 20:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,026 times.