Astley, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png LancashireGotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Astley, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Astley, Lancashire
Astley St Stephen Church Lancashire contributor SMJ.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Leigh PLU
Registration District Leigh
Records begin
Parish records: 1760
Bishop's Transcripts: 1724
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eccles
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

ASTLEY, a district chapelry, in the parish and union of Leigh, hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 3 miles (E.) from the town of Leigh. The chapel was rebuilt in 1760; a tower was added in 1842, and a new north aisle in 1847. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records

Online Records

Astley chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Leigh to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


ASTLEY ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1744) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1760-1925 1748 1760-1841
LOPC 1760-1853 1843-1918 1754-1893
LBMD None 1843-1950 None
AC None  None None
LEIGH ST MARY'S PARISH (1558) Indexes (ancient parish containing ASTLEY)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1559-1872 1701-1845  1753-1857
LOPC 1700-1901 1560-1901 1660-1856 
FMP  None None
LBMD None 1837-1950 None 
AC 1558-1700 1558-1700 1558-1700


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Astley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Leigh to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LEIGH PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306901.


Poor Law Unions

Leigh, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 29 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 22:53.
  • This page has been accessed 2,343 times.