Aston by Sutton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Aston by Sutton

Guide to Aston by Sutton, Cheshire family history and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Aston by Sutton, Cheshire
Aston by Sutton St Peter Cheshire.jpg
Aston by Sutton St Peter Cheshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Runcorn PLU
Registration District Runcorn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1635; For more records see Runcorn
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASTON-BY-SUTTON, is a parochial chapelry, in the parish and union of Runcorn, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 1 mile (S. by W.) from Preston-Brook.[1]

Aston by Sutton St Peter was initially a chapelry in the Ancient Parish of Runcorn and included Aston by Sutton, Aston Grange, Sutton (near Runcorn) and a small part of Dutton, becoming a parish church in its own right from 1861.

St Peter's Church, Aston-by-Sutton is in Aston Lane in the small hamlet of Aston-by-Sutton, Cheshire near to the town of Runcorn.

The first religious building in the hamlet was a chapel of ease in the parish of Runcorn built in 1236 by Sir Thomas de Dutton which was known as the chapel of Poosey (or Pooseye).

The first chapel on the site of the present church was built in the early 16th century, not later than 1542. Following this the present chancel was built in 1697 for Sir Willoughby Aston, the architect possibly being John Vanbrugh.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241235.

Church Records

Aston by Sutton St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Aston by Sutton St Peter Chapelry (1623) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1894-1900


FS PR's 1671-1909
  NONE
1635-1934
  NONE
1635-1959
  NONE
FS BT'S 1671-1893   NONE
1635-1836
  NONE
1635-1894
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers of Aston-by-Sutton, 1635-1997

Cheshire Record Office call number: P128/1/1-2, P128/2/1-3, P128/5422/1, P128/3/1-2, P128/5422/2, P128/4/1-2, P128/5422/5, P128/2992/1

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1635-1974. Marriages, 1635-1961. Burials, 1635-1997. Banns of marriages, 1830-1909. BRITISH
2197742 Items 1 - 13

Bishop's transcripts for Aston-by-Sutton, 1623-1894 The parish church is St. Peter. Aston-by-Sutton was formerly a chapelry in the parish of Runcorn.Cheshire Record Office number: EDB 12

Bishop's transcripts Contents FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1623, 1636-1637, 1641, 1665-1666, 1671-1676, 1678-1679, 1682-1685, 1687-1731, 1733-1739, 1741-1843. Baptisms 1821, 1844-1893. Burials 1844-1894. BRITISH
1655364 Item 2
Another filming BRITISH
1656808 Item 2

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Runcorn

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-108.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

  • Richards, Raymond (1950), "The Lesser Chapels of Cheshire: The Church of St. Peter, Aston by Sutton", Transactions of the Lancashire and Cheshire Antiquarian Society: 115–135
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, ISBN 1871731232
  • Starkey, H. F. (1990), Old Runcorn, Halton Borough Council

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 3,375 times.