Aston cum Aughton, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Aston cum Aughton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Aston cum Aughton, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Rotherham PLU|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
ASTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Rotherham, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, West Riding, Yorkshire, containing with the hamlet of Aughton and part of Ulley, 763 inhabitants. In the hamlet of Aughton are places of worship for Calvinists and Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Aston cum Aughton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|ASTON CUM AUGHTON PARISH (1860) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Aston cum Aughton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Aston cum Aughton page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464277.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 100-104. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 2 May 2015, at 12:00.
- This page has been accessed 2,828 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News