Atlow, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Atlow, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Atlow Church Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Ashbourne PLU|
|Parish registers: 1685|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1682|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Atlow is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1716 from chapelry in Bradbourne, Derbyshire Ancient Parish.
ATLOW, a parish, in the hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 5 miles (E. N. E.) from Ashbourn. 
ATLOW, a chapelry in Bradbourne parish, Derby; on a branch of the river Dove, 4½ miles-NE by E of Ashborne r. station. Post Town, Ashborne. The church is tolerable..
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241287.
Atlow parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Atlow All Saints (1685) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1685-1912
Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1682-1868 Marr 1682-1863 Bur 1682-1873 Missing Bap/Marr/Bur for 1859 To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Atlow on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 12:04.
- This page has been accessed 2,404 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News