Aubourn, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Aubourn, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Aubourn, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aubourn, Lincolnshire
Auborn St Peter Lincolnshire.jpg
Auborn St Peter Lincolnshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Boothby-Graffo
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: 1749
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Graffoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Aubourn St Peter is an Ancient parish which includes Marlborough, Houdsham and Haddington. Part of the parish boundary neighbours the extra parochial place of Morton.

The ancient parish church was replaced in 1862 at a new site; it was restored in 1933 but closed in 1968 and was demolished in 1973 - the tower and one wall were retained as a monument.

A Heritage Lottery Fund grant in 2004 permitted restoration of part of the building and maintenance of the Auborn clock tower  by Auborn and Haddington Parish Council.

Aubourn Clock Tower Lincolnshire.jpg

The original church close to Auborn Hall had been maintained as a mortuary chapel and was reduced to a chancel. It is now the parish church

AUBORN (St. Peter), a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Boothby-Graffo, parts of Kesteven, union and county of Lincoln, 6¼ miles (S. W. by S.) from Lincoln; containing, with a part of the township of Haddington. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish is in the South West sub-district of Lincoln registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Aubourn Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Aubourn

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438755.


Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Aubourn/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 108-112. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 04:52.
  • This page has been accessed 3,837 times.