Auburn, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Auburn, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Bridlington|
|Parish registers: For records see Fraisthorpe|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see Fraisthorpe|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
AUBURN, or Awburn, a township-chapelry in Fraisthorpe parish, E. R. Yorkshire. 
See Also FRAISTHORPE, a parish, in the union of Bridlington, wapentake of Dickering, E. riding of York, 4 miles (S. S. W.) from Bridlington; containing 104 inhabitants.The village of Auburn, here, has been reduced, by the encroachments of the sea, to a single farm containing about 300 acres of land; its chapel was totally destroyed by the waters about 60 years ago. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Fraisthorpe exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|AUBURN CHAPELRY (1721) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Auburn and comprising the whole ancient parish of Fraisthorpe to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Fraisthorpe page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464217.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ John Marius WilsonImperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-1870) Date accessed: 07th January 2014
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 255-259. Date accessed: 7 January 2014.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 2 May 2015, at 12:01.
- This page has been accessed 4,047 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News