Auckland St Andrew, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Auckland St Andrew, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Auckland St Andrew, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Auckland St Andrew, Durham
Auckland, St Andrew's Church Co Durham.jpg
Auckland St Andrews
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Auckland PLU
Registration District Auckland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AUCKLAND, ST. ANDREW, a parish, in the union of Auckland, partly in the S. E., but chiefly in the N. W., division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, with the chapelry of St. Anne. There are places of worship for Independents, Ranters, the Society of Friends, and others. There are distinct [churches] at Byers-Green, Coundon, Escomb, Etherley, Hamsterley, St. Helen's, and Shildon.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Parish Registers are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL

The Bishop's Transcripts collection held in the University of Durham Library Archives and Special Collections can be viewed free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The transcripts with gaps are held under  reference DDR/EA/PBT/2/12 are for March 1765 - 1851 and the collection also includes some  transcripts for Escomb (County Durham) May 1795-1803. See separate series of transcripts for Escomb.

Due to the gaps in the Durham Bishop's Transcripts in most parishes in the post 1760 transcript collection it is advisable to search the original parish registers.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Ranters
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.

Genealogy From Periodicals

McIntosh, Gordon. My McIntosh Family Tree Spurious branches included.. History of descendants of James McIntosh and Isabella (Nisbet) Wallace, with descendants in Edinburgh, St. Cuthberts, Northumberland - Wylam, Durham, Bishop Auckland, and New Zealand-Auckland. Surnames in the tree, Clements, Edwards, Hunter, Blair, Brown, Roycroft, Paxton, and Falconer. Article dated from 1794-1952 and is in the Northumberland and Durham Family History Society Journal. vol. 34, no.3, page 96-98. Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo v.34,no.3, (autumn 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Auckland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Auckland St Andrew on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 April 2015, at 14:18.
  • This page has been accessed 4,135 times.