Ault Hucknall, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ault Hucknall, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Ault Hucknall, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ault Hucknall, Derbyshire
Ault Hucknall St John the Baptist Derbyshire.jpg
Ault Hucknall St John the Baptist Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Mansfield PLU
Registration District Mansfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chesterfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AULT-HUCKNALL, a parish, in the union of Mansfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 5½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Mansfield. [1]

Ault Hucknall St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Stainsby and Rowthorne.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.

See Derbyshire Census 

Church records

Ault Hucknall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials havehave online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Ault Hucknall St John the Baptist (1662) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap1663-1883 Marr 1663-1848 Bur 1663- 1883

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Methodist New Connexion

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Mansfield

This parish was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837 for registration district history Mansfield registration district

Poor Law Unions

Mansfield Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ault Hucknall on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 112-116. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 12:38.
  • This page has been accessed 2,531 times.