Avery County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Avery County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Avery County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Avery County North Carolina
Newland, NC 28640
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate, court & land from 1911.
Register of Deeds
PO Box 87
Newland, NC 28657
Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 115
Newland, NC 28657
Telephone: (828) 737-6700
- Cemetery information - Avery County, NCGenWeb - includes listings to approx. 60 cemeteries
- Cemetery information - Avery County, NCGenWeb Archives
- Find-A-Grave: Avery County Cemeteries - user-submitted names for burials in the county
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||[FINDAGRAVEURLCEMETERY Findagrave.com]|
|[NCGENWEBURL NCGenWeb]||[WORLDCATLINK WorldCat]||[BILLIONGRAVESCEMETERY Billion Graves]|
|[USGENWEBARCHIVES NCGenWeb Archives]|
|[USGENWEBTOMBSTONEURL Tombstone Project]|
|[NORTHCAROLINACEMETERIES North Carolina Cemeteries]|
|[BILLIONGRAVESNAMES Billion Graves]|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Avery County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Mililtary records - Avery County, NCGenWeb Archives
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- Avery County Newspapers - find libraries with microfilm of historical newspapers; via the Library of Congress
- Avery Journal-Times - current newspaper
Online Probate Records
- 1660 – 1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $]
- 1663 - 1979 North Carolina Estate Files 1663-1979 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1665 - 1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 – 1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- 1914-1970 - Avery County Birth Index 1914-1970. Batch C736171 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
Avery County marriage records can be ordered from the Register of Deeds. Please visit their website for contact information.
- 1911-1977 - Avery County Marriage Index 1911-1977 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1762–1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images; includes Avery County marriages
- 1741-2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759-1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
Avery County death records can be ordered from the Register of Deeds. Please visit their website for contact information.
- North Carolina Death Certificates, 1906-1930 - database from FamilySearch; includes original microfilm images and covers Avery County.
- Avery County Obituaries - Avery County, NCGenWeb Archives
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Avery County students at NC colleges - a list via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Toe Valley Genealogical Society
491 Beaver Creek Road
Spruce Pine, NC 28777
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- NCGenWeb: Avery County - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 30 January 2016, at 03:46.
- This page has been accessed 12,121 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News