Aythorpe Roding, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Aythorpe Roding, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Aythorpe Roding, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aythorpe Roding, Essex
St Mary the Virgin Aythorpe Roding, Essex..jpg
St Mary the Virgin Aythorpe Roding, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dunmow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Dunmow PLU
Registration District Dunmow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Roding
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Aythorpe Roding or Roothing, Aythorpe (St. Mary), is a parish, is in the union and hundred of Dunmow, the North division of Essex it is 5 1/2 miles SWS from the town of Dunmow.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aythorpe Roding, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6][7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Aythorpe Roding, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1560-1751
ESSEX 1559-1965 1560-1956 1560-1992
FREG 1761-1965 1666-1937 1761-1993
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1559-1812 1559-1812
NBI 1761-1812
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241367.


Poor Law Unions

Dunmow Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Aythorpe Roding on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Adapted: date accessed: 22 May 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.
  5. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  6. Batch C043431, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  7. Batch M043431, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 21:05.
  • This page has been accessed 7,039 times.