Azerbaijan GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Azerbaijan)

Asia Gotoarrow.png Azerbaijan

Guide to Azerbaijan ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Azerbaijan.jpg
News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Flag of Azerbaijan
Emblem of Azerbaijan
Location of Azerbaijan

Contents

Location

Azerbaijan is located in the Caucasus region, situated at the crossroads of Eastern Europe and Western Asia. It is bounded by the Caspian Sea to the east, Russia to the north, Georgia to the northwest, Armenia to the west and Iran to the south. As such, its history coincides with the history of the silk road, and consequently Azerbaijan has been the scene of many wars and disturbances.

History

Its history goes back many centuries prior to the time of Christ. The Turkic tribes are believed to have arrived as small bands of ghazis whose conquests led to the Turkification of the population as largely native Caucasian and Iranian tribes adopted the Turkic language of the Oghuz.

Religion

During the rule of the Medes and Persians,, many Caucasian Albanians adopted Zoroastrianism and later switched to Christianity. However when the Arabian Muslims arrived many converted to that Religion, and most of the country became Muslim with the arrival of the Muslim Turks.

Languages

Azerbaijan is a country with numerous languages, all based on ethnology. Spoken languages include: Azeri 90.6%, Dagestani 2.2%, Russian 1.8%, Armenian 1.5%, other 3.9% (1999 census) note: almost all Armenian speaking minorities live in the separatist Nagorno-Karabakh region.

Azerbaijan Genealogy

The following links might be found useful:

[Ancestry.com]

[Kindred Trails]

[Genealogy Today]

[My Heritage]


Asia Gotoarrow.png Azerbaijan

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)


Help with the Azerbaijan Wiki pages

Wiki Volunteers Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:

  • Expand county articles
  • Check links on pages
  • ...and more

Find more opportunities to help with the Azerbaijan pages.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 February 2015, at 19:30.
  • This page has been accessed 10,553 times.