Bühler parish, Appenzell, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngAppenzell Ausserrhoden Gotoarrow.png Bühler parish

Guide to Bühler parish, Appenzell, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

Bühler is located on the north side of the Rotbachtal in the Appenzell Mittelland district.  Bühler has an area of 5.6 square kilometers (2.2 square miles).  The area is used thusly:

26% forests
62.7% agriculture
10.6% settlements
.7% non-productive

Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell, including Bühler.

History

Bühler was first mentioned in 1479 as Ullrich Büllershoff.  The parish of Bühler was established in 1723 from the parish of Teufen.  In 1734, the population was at 1,167.  By 1850, it had grown to 1,281 and by 1880 to 1,611. 

Place Names

Locations within Bühler

Au
Brunnern
Buchen
Bühler
Dachsbühl
Ebne
Edelgrub

Grünau
Heermoos
Melsterbühl
Mempfel
Nohblaken
Rämsen
Roggenhalm

Rothalden
Schwantlen
Steig
Steigbach
Weid
Weissegg

Surrounding Parishes

Click here for a map showing Bühler in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell.

Gais
Schlatt-Haslen (Appenzell-Innerrhoden)
Speicher
Teufen
Trogen

Collections

Church Records

The church records for Bühler are now available online from the Appenzell State Archives.  They are organized by volume.  Click here to access these records.

The protestant parish of Bühler was established in 1723 from the parish of Teufen.  Records held by the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen), marriages (Heiraten), and deaths (Tote) 1724-1875, and confirmations (Konfirmanden) 1803-1829.
Marriage banns (Eheverkundigung) 1842-1875 are available at the rectory in Bühler.
Stillbirths and premature births/deaths (Frühgeburten) 1836-1874 are available at the rectory in Bühler.

The following family books (Familienbuch) are available for Bühler:

Volumes 1-3 (1760) - citizen registers, available at the Cantonal Archive in Herisau, Switzerland.
Volume 4 (1803, 1806, 1810, 1814, 1818, 1821) - household visitations, available at the rectory in Bühler
Volume 5 (1823, 1830) - household visitations, available at the rectory in Bühler
Volume 6 (1832) - non-citizen resident register, available at the rectory in Bühler
Volume 7 (1832) - citizen resident register, available at the rectory in Bühler
Volume 8 (1844) - register, available at the rectory in Bühler
Volume 9 (1848) - household visitations, available at the rectory in Bühler
Volume 10 (1852) - register, available at the rectory in Bühler
Volume 11 (19th century) - non-citizen resident register, available at the rectory in Bühler
Volume 12 (19th century) - non-citizen resident register, available at the rectory in Bühler

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Bühler families:

Frehner family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,007; see also FHL Film 193,471)
Graf family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,473)
Grubenmann family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,473)
Lutz family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,973; see also FHL Film 193,478)
Niederer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,965; see also FHL Film 193,480)
Preisig family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,084)
Zuberbühler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,036)

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876.  Bühler belongs to the Mittelland Appenzell civil registration district.  Records are only available in Switzerland.  For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Mittelland A.Rh.
Postfach 144
CH - 9055 Bühler AR

Tel: +41 71 791 70 91

email: za@buehler.ar.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Bühler prior to 1875:

Altherr
Binder
Bruderer (extinct)
Eugster
Fässler
Fisch
Fitze/Fitzi
Frehner
Graf
Grubenmann
Gschwend (extinct)

Hofstetter
Hohl
Höhener
Holderegger (extinct)
Hörler (extinct)
Koller
Kürsteiner
Langenegger
Laubbacher/Lopacher
   (extinct)

Lutz (extinct)
Niederer (extinct)
Oberteufer (extinct)
Oertli (extinct)
Preisig (1834 from
    Schwellbrunn)
Rechsteiner
Roth
Schefer
Signer (extinct)

Sonderegger (extinct)
Stark
Sutter
Tanner (extinct)
Thäler
Ungemuth
Waldburger
Weishaupt
Widmer
Zürcher

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden (in German)

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Registry of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 February 2015, at 16:58.
  • This page has been accessed 2,118 times.