Babraham, CambridgeshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Babraham, Cambridgeshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Babraham, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chilford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Linton PLU
Registration District Linton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Camps
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BABRAHAM (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Linton, hundred of Chilford, county of Cambridge, 4½ miles (N. W.) from Linton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Church of England: Babraham, St. Peter

  • Parish records begin in 1561
  • Bishop Transcripts begin in 1599

>Parish registers for Babraham, 1561-1876 are on FHL Film # 1040364 Items 14-23 at the Family History Library or through a Family History Center.

>Bishop Transcripts for Babraham, 1599-812 are on FHL Film # 1485266 at the Family History Library or through a Family History Center.

>Methodist: Records for these exist in various locations

The original registers are deposited at the Cambridgeshire Record Office and the Society of Genealogists.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241223.

Poor Law Unions

Linton Poor Law Union, Cambridgeshire

The Overseers accounts from 1829-1837 are  on FHL Film # 1040403 Items 1-8 available at the Family History Library and a Family History Center.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Babraham on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 May 2014, at 20:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,287 times.