Baddesley Clinton, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  WarwickshireGotoarrow.png  Warwickshire Parishes

Baddesley Clinton, Warwickshire
St Michael Baddesley Clinton Warwickshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Solihull PLU
Registration District Solihull
Records begin
Parish registers: 1633
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of Baddesley Clinton
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Baddesley Clinton St Michael is an Ancient Parish in Warwickshire.

In 1438, John Brome, the Under-Treasurer of England, bought the manor. It then passed to his son, Nicholas, responsible for the extensive rebuilding of the parish church dedicated to St. Michael, done as penance for killing the parish priest, a murder reputed to have taken place in the manor house nearby.
The parish church  was once called  St. James)  west tower was built about 1500 by Nicholas Brome, as recorded by an inscription on the south wall. It was entirely rebuilt in 1634 by Edward Ferrers.

Baddesley-Clinton, is a parish in Solihull district, Warwickshire; it is on the Warwick and Birmingham railway, at Kingswood station, 8½ miles NW of Warwick. The post town is, Rowing ton under Warwick. There is a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Baddesley Clinton, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3][4]
Baddesley Clinton, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1535-1812 1535-1812 1535-1812 1535-1812 1535-1812 1535-1812
AC 1813-1899 1813-1899 1754-1849 1754-1849

Bishop's Transcripts deposited at the Lichfield Record Office Bap 1813-1835 Marr 1813-1835 Bur 1813-1835

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464171.


Poor Law Unions

Solihull Poor Law Union, Warwickshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted. Date accessed: 30 Oct 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 26 August 2014.
See A History of the County of Warwick: Volume 4: Hemlingford Hundred (1947), pp. 13-19. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=42646&strquery=baddesley clinton

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 May 2015, at 20:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,929 times.