Baddesley Ensor, WarwickshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  WarwickshireGotoarrow.png  Warwickshire Parishes

Baddesley Ensor, Warwickshire
St Nicholas Baddesley Ensor Warwickshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Atherstone PLU
Registration District Atherstone
Records begin
Parish records: 1688
Bishop's Transcripts: 1676
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1837 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory); Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Baddesley Ensor (St Michael) is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Warwickshire, created in 1760 from chapelry in  Polesworth, Warwickshire Ancient Parish.

Baddesley-Ensor, is a parish in Atherstone district, Warwickshire; it is 3 miles WNW of Atherstone railway station. The post office is under Atherstone. The parish church  was consecrated in September 1846. There are chapels for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bishop's Transcripts deposited at the Lichfield Record Office Bap 1676-1846 Marr 1676-1836 Bur 1676-1846

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464172.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

School records

Baddesley Ensor Junior School 1914-2000

  • Logbooks
  • Admission Registers
  • Stock books and photographs

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date accessed November 21, 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 April 2014, at 18:26.
  • This page has been accessed 697 times.