Badgworth, Somerset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Badgworth, Somerset)

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Badgworth, Somersetfamily history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Badgworth, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winterstoke
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Axbridge
Registration District Axbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Axbridge
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office


Parish History

BADGWORTH (St. Congar), a parish, in the union of Axbridge, hundred of Winterstoke, E. division of Somerset, 2½ miles southwest by west of Axbridge.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538 [2] .

Badgworth, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[8]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1598-1912
FS 1598-1668




SOPC 1671-1812
Church records on microfilm

Bishops Transcripts

Church Vital Records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474608.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax[9] .

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. England Church Records
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  9. Land Tax Assessment Records


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2015, at 23:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,954 times.