Bagby, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bagby, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png North Riding Gotoarrow.png Bagby

Guide to Bagby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary Bagby Yorkshire.jpg


Parish History

Bagby St Mary was formed as a chapelry in Kirby Knowle, Yorkshire parish and the church dates from 1862.

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Bagby like this:

BAGBY-WITH-ISLEBECK, a chapelry in Kirby Knowle parish, N. R. Yorkshire; on an affluent of the river Codbeck, 2½ miles SE of Thirsk r. station. Post town, Thirsk. Acres, 1,795. Real property, £3,102. Pop., 302. Houses, 62. The living is a p. curacy, annexed to the rectory of Kirby-Knowle, in the diocese of York.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bagby, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[1]
Bagby, Yorkshire Parish Online Records
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1556-1745 1556-1745 1559-1745 1559-1745 1557-1745 1557-1745

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Thirsk Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 23:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,215 times.