Bagworth, LeicestershireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Poor Law Union||Market Bosworth PLU|
|Registration District||Market Bosworth|
|Parish registers: 1781; For more records see Thornton|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1636|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
BAGWORTH, a chapelry, in the parish of Thornton, union of Market-Bosworth, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of the county of Leicester, 10 miles (W. by N.) from Leicester. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Bagworth like this:
BAGWORTH, a chapelry in Thornton parish, Leicester; on the Leicester and Burton railway, 5½ miles NE of Market-Bosworth.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bagworth, Leicestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Bagworth, Leicestershire Parish Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438749.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 3 July 2014, at 23:22.
- This page has been accessed 702 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.Give Feedback