Baker City Oregon Family History CenterEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.

The Baker City Family History Center is dedicated to providing education and support for the family history community in the Baker City area. The Family History Center is open to the public, who are invited to use the resources free of charge. Trained volunteers are available during Center hours and by appointment to assist patrons.


Center Contacts and Hours

Location Map:


  • 2625 Hughes Lane, Baker City, Oregon 97814 United States
  • Language:English


  • 1-541-523-2397
  • 1-541-524-9691 (after hours)



Open Hours:

  • Tuesday: 1:00pm-4:00pm
  • Wednesday: 10:00am-1:00pm and 5:30pm-8:30pm
  • Thursday: 10:00am-1:00pm 
  • Friday: 1:00pm-4:00pm

Holiday Schedule:

Closed on major holidays and 4th Wednesday 5:30-8:30 p.m.

Calendar and Events

Upcoming Events

  • Family Discovery Day, 26 September 2015

Class Schedule

Staff Training Meetings

  • Staff training meetings, 4th Wednesday of each month, 6:30-8:00pm

Family Tree

Family Tree Training

Introduction to FamilySearch Tree:

FREE Online Genealogy Forms and Training

Online Forms

Online Training Courses

Online Research Training Videos

The following list is just a sampling of many of the ResearchTraining Videos that are available from the above link at the Learning Center Home page.

Online Training Videos

Center Resources


  • FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog.

Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
    • 19th Centry British Library Newspaper Digital Archive
    • Access Newspaper Archive
    • Alexander Street Press - The American Civil War
    • ArkivDigital Online - Swedish Genealogy
    • Findmypast
    • (previously known as
    • The Genealogist
    • Godfrey Memorial Library
    • Hertiage Quest Online
    • Historic Map Works Library Edition
    • Paper Trail
    • World Vital Records

Hardware and Equipment

Center Services

Provide 1-on-1 family history training, assistance and support

Offer Family History classes

Provide other family history resources and materials

Staff Research Specialties

(Include sections for any other services your center provides. Add additional sections for those services. See the Mesa FamilySearch Library for examples.)

Resources in the Local Area

Resources Outside Local Area

Browse by Country
United Kingdom


National Links:

Other Family History and Library Centers and Resources

Volunteer at the Center

Would you like to learn more about Family History? Those who serve always learn the most!

Family History Consultant Resources and Help

New Family History Consultants have a variety of resources available to them on to support them in the responsibilities of their calling.

Additional Resources are also available to support ongoing efforts - Training Summary and Resources available on

Resources and information for individuals and families you are working with are also available for use through

Family Search Blog

A terrific resource to keep up on what is going on and available in Family Search FamilySearch Blog

Let’s Get Acquainted with the Family Search Wiki (WIK-ee)

Family Search users don’t always think to look at this valuable tool because they aren’t sure what it is and how valuable it can be to our research efforts.  So, in Family Search’s words: “The FamilySearch Wiki is not about finding the names of your ancestors. It is not, in fact, about finding people at all.

  • The Wiki is about finding records that may have been generated about your ancestors and the places in which the records might be found.
    *It is a vast record depository of the paper trail that people leave behind long after they are gone.
    *The Wiki has records from the United States as well as from 244 countries.
    *Here you will be able to find documents such as census records, marriage records, birth records and death records and much more.
    *Probate documents are often very informative and may help you in your search. There is an extensive list of United States military records on the Wiki .”

Recently a friend in Illinois went into the FamilySearch Wiki and found phone numbers for the Surrogate Court in New York that held wills. She found six missing wills!

Take time to explore the opening page of this site there are tutuorials and examples and lots of help in learning the Wiki. Got stuck in your research? Look to the Wiki for help. How do I find the FamilySearch Wiki?

  • Search (drop down menu) Wiki
    *(open and go to Search at top of page which will give you a dropdown menu and then click on Wiki)
    *How to Use the Wiki -- Wiki_Help
    *About the Wiki -- Find an ancestor using the wiki

Family Search Apps for Smart Phones and Tablets

FamilySearch Apps

Family Search Hacks to Help Find Temple Names Faster

5 FamilySearch Hacks

Unreserved Reservations after Two Years

Unreserving Reservations After Two Years


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 July 2015, at 19:14.
  • This page has been accessed 3,254 times.