Baker County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Baker County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  go to  Florida  go to  Baker County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Baker County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Baker County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 8, 1861
County Seat MacClenny
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Baker County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Baker County Courthouse

Baker County Courthouse
339 E MacClenny Avenue
MacClenny, FL 32063-2100
Phone: 904.259.3121


County Judge has marriage and probate records
Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1880[1]

History

Parent County

1861--Baker County was created 8 February 1861 from New River county. New River County's name was changed to Bradford in 1861.
County seat: MacClenny [2]

(Macclenny was once called Darbyville but was changed in 1890 to Macclenny.)

Baker County was named in honor of James McNair Baker. Baker was the former Judge of the Fourth Judicial District of the state of Florida, which included the Baker County area at the time (History of Baker County).

The majority of the pre civil war settlers who came to the area now known as Baker County were hunters and farmers. However after the war industries involving turpentine and logging brought a greater number of northern settlers because of the higher opportunity for employment. The county seat was first in Sanderson. Later however, after the burning of the Sanderson courthouse in 1877 and also with pressure from Darbyville settlers, a vote was held to determine the county seat. On February 22, 1886 a votes rendering results with only 23 more votes in favor of the county seat being in Darbyville. The county seat was then moved to Darbyville, presently known as Macclenny. Darbyville was named after the Darby family who owned a lot of the land in the area. When Carr Bowers McClenny married one of the Darby girls he purchased most of the land. This brought about the new name of the area in 1890 and it has stayed Macclenny ever since. (Step Back in Time at Baker County Heritage). The area began with farming cotton and corn as the main crops followed by sugar cane, sweet potatoes and lots of leafy vegetables. After the environmental disturbance or the boll weevil which destroyed the cotton, corn took the place of Baker main crop. Selling mostly as moonshine. Some time after tobacco became the main cash crop. (History of Baker County).


Source:

"Baker County Review." History of Baker County, Florida. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Nov. 2013.http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~flbakehs/history.html

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1888 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places / Localities

Populated Places

( * indicates an incorporated city or town )

  • Baxter
  • Bessent
  • Eddy
  • Glen Saint Mary*
  • Kenny
  • LaBuena
  • Macclenny*  (county seat)
  • Manning
  • Manns Spur
  • Margaretta
  • McPherson
  • Olustee
  • Pine Top
  • Sanderson
  • Sapp
  • Sargent
  • Steckert
  • Taylor

Neighboring Counties


 

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Baker County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

The 1885 Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Sanderson

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Baker County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flbaker.png

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle
  • Civil War
- Florida, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Florida, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Florida, Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955
- Florida, Confederate Pension Applications Files
- A Guide to Civil War Records at the State Archives of Florida

The following Civil War battle was fought in Baker County:

October 16-18, 1863 = Olustee, also known as Ocean Pond[3]

Map showing Civil War battles in Florida.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Baker County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Baker County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Baker County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Marriage
  • 1877-1900 - Baker County Marriage Index 1877-1900. Batch M744361 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1877-1920 - Baker County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1877-1920. Batch M734997 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1900-1919 - Baker County Marriage Book 2 Index 1900-1919. Batch M734996 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1919-1927 - Baker County Marriage Books 3 thru 5 Index 1919-1927. Batch M734835 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Baker County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 26 June 2012).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 March 2014, at 21:42.
  • This page has been accessed 8,501 times.