Bakewell, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Bakewell, Derbyshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bakewell, Derbyshire
Bakewell All Saints Derbyshire.jpg
Bakewell All Saints Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell PLU
Registration District Bakewell; Chapel en le Frith
Records begin
Parish records: 1614
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bakewell
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Contents

Parish History

Bakewell is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Alport, Brushfield, Great Rowsley, Great Rowsley with Alport, Haddon, Harthill, Hartle, Hassop, Nether Haddon, Over Haddon, Rowland, Rowsley, Wardlow, and Wardlow with Wardlow Mires.
Chapelries with church buildings erected (with baptisms and burial registers) and which subdivide Bakewell All Saints ancient parish are also found, in the following townships lying within its parish boundary: Baslow, Beeley, and Buxton, Ashford, Chelmorton, Great Longstone, Monyash, Sheldon, and Taddington. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and others[1].

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.

Church records

Bakewell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Bakewell All Saints (1614) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1614-1842   NONE
1614-1912
  NONE
1614-1803
  NONE


To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Bakewell All Saints Derbyshire Record Office reference D2057 has deposited registers Bap 1614-1980 Mar 1614-1972 Burial 1614-1918, 1929. 1975 banns 1653-1659, 1777, 1815-1821, 1862-1893, 1920-1970
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

  • Bakewell

Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 128-132. Date accessed: 02 July 2103.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,610 times.