Temple Balsall, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Balsall, Temple, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

{{Infobox England Jurisdictions.
Temple Balsall, Warwickshire
St Mary the Virgin Temple Balsall Warwickshire.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Meriden; Solihull PLU
Registration District Meriden; Solihull
Records begin
Parish registers: 1736; For more records see Hampton in Arden
Bishop's Transcripts: 1809
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of Temple Balsall
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BALSALL, Balshall, or Temple-Balsall, a chapelry in the parish of Hampton-in-Arden, Warwick; 3 miles E of Knowle r. station, and 9 W by S of Coventry.[1] Additional information:

Temples Balsall St Mary the Virgin was made an Ecclesiastical parish in 1863.Temple Balsall was previously a chapelry of Hampton in Arden, Warwickshire Ancient Parish in Warwickshire.

It is named after, and dates from the time of, the Knights Templar. They farmed about 650 acres (2.6 km2) of the estate in the 12th century, and established a preceptory where a number of brothers lived and ran the estate. After the Order was suppressed, the estate was given to the Knights Hospitaller of St John. They lost it when Henry VIII dissolved the monasteries and Queen Elizabeth I gave the estate to Robert Dudley.

The 13th century church and Old Hall, and 17th century almshouses survive
Balsall, originally part of Hampton-in-Arden, was made a separate ecclesiastical parish in 1863 and was enlarged by the inclusion of part of Knowle in 1932. It is roughly an equilateral triangle, some 3½ miles from its base to its northern apex, with Berkswell on the east and Knowle and Barston on the west. The country is open, with very little woodland and many small streams and ponds, rising from 300 ft. in the north to about 400 ft. in the south. The village lies close to the River Blythe at the junction of Knowle and Barston parishes. The older roads are mostly lanes, but in the south-east on what was Balsall Heath a number of straight roads have been laid out since the inclosure in 1802, and here in the modern settlement of Meer End is the half-timbered mission church of St. Richard, opened in 1929. There is also a small modern church of St. Peter, Balsall Common, built of red brick.

From: 'Parishes: Balsall', A History of the County of Warwick: Volume 4: Hemlingford Hundred (1947), pp. 86-91. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=42661&strquery=temple balsall Date accessed: 22 February 2011.

Temple Balsall (grid reference SP207760) is a hamlet within the Metropolitan Borough of Solihull in the English West Midlands. It was formerly in Warwickshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Temple Balsall, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3][4]
Temple Balsall, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1679-1812 1679-1812 1679-1812 1679-1812 1679-1812 1679-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910 1754-1910 1754-1910

Parish registers for Balsall, 1615-1878 Church of England. Parish Church of Balsall (Warwickshire) Microfilm of original records at the Warwick Record Office. Misc. church records, 1824-1869. FHL BRITISH Film 563349 Item 2
Burials, 1705-1717, 1749-1829; Other church records, 1615; Reg. of women in hospital, 1678-1878. FHL BRITISH Film 563352 Item 1
Burials, 1813-1876; Banns, 1863-1899. FHL BRITISH Film 364105
Church records, 1690-1699, 1814. FHL BRITISH Film563760 Item 2

Parish registers for Balsall, 1898-1948
Church of England. Chapelry of Balsall (Warwickshire). Microfilm of original records in the Warwick County Record Office, Warwick.Balsall, or Temple Balsall, is located in the parish of Hampton in Arden, Warwickshire.

Baptisms, 1899-1906. Marriages, 1898-1948. Banns, 1898-1905. FHL BRITISH Film 1067394 Items 1 - 3

Bishop's transcripts for Balsall, Warwickshire, 1800-1906
Church of England. Chapelry of Balsall (Warwickshire). Microfilm of original records in the Warwick County Record Office, Warwick.Balsall, or Temple Balsall, is a chapelry in Hampton in Arden, Warwickshire parish.

Baptisms, 1800-1828, 1831, 1850-1887, 1889, 1891, 1902-1906; Burials, 1891, 1902-1905. FHL BRITISH Film 198754 Item 1
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1809-1834. FHL BRITISH Film
502903 Item 2

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464171.


Poor Law Unions

Solihull Poor Law Union, Warwickshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 15 July 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 May 2015, at 00:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,812 times.