Baltonsborough, SomersetEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
BALTONSBOROUGH, a parish in Wells district, Somerset; on the river Brue, 4 miles SW of Glastonbury railway station. It includes the hamlet of Southwood. There is a Wesleyan and Moravian chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538  .
Baltonsborough, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free|
|BALTONSBOROUGH PARISH Online Records|
Church records on microfilm
- Bishop's transcripts for Baltonsborough (Church of England), 1599-1813
- Bishop's transcripts for Baltonsborough (Church of England), 1599-1829, 1840
Church Vital Records
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474598.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
School records are a primary source for genealogists. The admission registers of schools administered by local authorities, perhaps from the 1870s but more frequently from 1902, usually show under the date of entry, the child's name and address and his or her date of birth. Some registers, but not all, also show the name and occupation of the parent or guardian, the name of the previous school attended and the reason for leaving .
- Admission registers of Baltonsborough Undl [sic School, 1896-1922]
In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax .
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Wilson, John M.,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
- ↑ England Church Records
- ↑ 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 19 February 2014.
- ↑ 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
- ↑ England schools
- ↑ Land Tax Assessment Records
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 26 March 2014, at 21:29.
- This page has been accessed 861 times.
We want your opinion!
Give feedback on two US state pages by clicking on the purple button belowClick Here