South Banbury, OxfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Banbury, South, Oxfordshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to South Banbury, Oxfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Banbury, Oxfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Banbury; King's-Sutton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Banbury PLU
Registration District Banbury
Records begin
Parish records: 1853
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Deddington
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

South Banbury is an Ecclesiastical Parish partly in Northamptonshire and partly in Oxfordshire; Created in 1846 from Banbury Ancient Parish. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

"The ecclesiastical parish of South Banbury was formed out of the mother parishes of Banbury and Warkworth (Northants) in 1846."--t.p. The parish records are available at the Family History Library only. In addition, the Oxfordshire County Record Office also has records available for this area.

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 0474571.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
FindMyPast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~engcbanb/links/lists.htm

 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 412 times.