Bangor Teifi, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngBangor Teifi

A guide to genealogy in Bangor Teifi, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

For other places with similar names see Bangor

Bangor Teifi is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

BANGOR, a parish in the upper division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 5 1/2 miles (E) from Newcastle-Emlyn. This parish is pleasantly situated on the river Teivy, the banks of which, in this part of its course, are richly ornamented with finely varied and beautifully picturesque scenery. The land, which is mostly enclosed and in a good state of cultivation, usually produces good crops of corn. The church, dedicated to St. David, is a small plain building, occupying a remarkable situation above a bold reach of the river. Near it is a circular mount, surrounded by a moat, called Castell Pistog, which is said to have been the site of a mansion anciently belonging to a family of that name.[1]

For more information on Bangor Teifi see: Genuki - Bangor Teifi

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 52-68. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 806 times.