Barbados GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Barbados ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Getting started with Barbados research
Many people throughout the world have early family connections to the Island of Barbados. It was colonized by England starting in 1627. Described as England's richest colony in the 1680s, a great deal of trade existed between Barbados (part of the Triangular Trade), the British Isles, Africa, and ports on the mainland in the New England, Chesapeake, and Carolina colonies. Many indentured servants from the British Isles served labor terms in Barbados in the 1600s, and upon receiving their freedom, could find no available land on the small island. Most set sail for Jamaica and the mainland English colonies.
Since 1966, Barbados has been an independent island nation in the Lesser Antilles, West Indies, east of the central Windward Islands, northeast of Venezuela between the Caribbean Sea and North Atlantic Ocean. Before that time, it had been part of the British Commonwealth.
Helpful guidebooks about researching Barbados ancestors in records on the island, as well as in English archives, are discussed in Barbados For Further Reading.
- Barbados Baptisms (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Barbados Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Barbados Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Barbados Census
- Barbados Church Records
- Barbados Probate Records
- Chronicle Barbados: Centre for Barbados Studies in History and Genealogy
- Digital Library of the Caribbean (DLOC) at the University of Florida has digitized many resources, including the six-volume Caribbeana
Things You Can Do
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
- This page was last modified on 30 September 2015, at 14:37.
- This page has been accessed 54,164 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News