Barcheston, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Barcheston, Warwickshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  WarwickshireGotoarrow.png  Warwickshire Parishes

Barcheston, Warwickshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kington
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Shipston on Stour
Registration District Shipston on Stour
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kineton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office


Parish History

Barcheston (St. Martin), is a village and a parish in Shipston-on-Stour district, Warwickshire. The village is on the verge of the county, 1 mile SE of Shipston-on-Stour, and 7½ miles NE of Blockley railway station. The parish includes also the hamlet of Willington; and the post town is Shipston-on-Stour.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Barcheston, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3][4]
Barcheston, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1562-1812 1562-1812 1562-1812 1562-1812 1562-1812 1562-1812
AC 1850-1910 1850-1910 1754-1910 1754-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464172.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date accessed November 21, 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 26 August 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 May 2015, at 21:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,797 times.