Barford St John, OxfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Barford St John, Oxfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barford St John, Oxfordshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bloxham
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Banbury PLU
Registration District Banbury
Records begin
Parish records: 1695; For more records see Adderbury with Milton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669; 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Deddington
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARFORD (St. John), a chapelry, in the parish of East Adderbury, union of Banbury, hundred of Bloxham, county of Oxford, 2¾ miles (N. W. by W.) from Deddington. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Barford St John, Oxfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Barford St John, Oxfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1600s, 1721-1727, 1733-1736, 1808-1852
OFHS 1629-1983
1698-1928
1699-1988


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 141-145. Date accessed: 13 September 2012.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 341 times.