Barkby Thorpe, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Barkby Thorpe, Leicestershire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Barkby Thorpe, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Barkby Thorpe, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Barrow upon Soar
Registration District Barrow upon Soar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1586; For more records see Barkby
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARKBY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of East Goscote, N.division of the county of Leicester, 5 miles (N. E.)from Leicester; containing, the chapelries of Barkby-Thorp and North Thurmaston. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Barkby like this:
BARKBY, a township and a parish in Barrow-upon-Soar district, Leicester. The parish lies 1½ mile S by E of Syston r. station, and 4½ NE of Leicester. The parish contains also the township of North Thurmaston and the hamlet of Barkby-Thorpe. There are two Methodist chapels.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester:  Refer to Barkby, Leicestershire


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.


Poor Law Unions

Barrow upon Soar Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 141-145. Date accessed: 16 August 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 04:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,529 times.