Barking, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Barking, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Barking, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barking, Essex
Barking, St Margaret Essex.jpg
Barking, St Margaret Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Becontree
County Essex
Poor Law Union Romford PLU
Registration District Romford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARKING, or Berking, is a town, a subdistrict, and a parish, in the district of Romford, Essex. The town is on the river Roding and on the Southend railway, it is 2 miles N of the Thames, and 7miles E of Bishopsgate, London. Its name is a corruption of Burging. The town has a station on the railway, the post office is under London E, there are three dissenting chapels, and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Barking, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2] and Boyd's London Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Barking, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1558-1753
1558-1849
ESSEX
1558-1991
1558-1958
1558-1947
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
FREG 1813-1827, 1890-1894
1813-1837
1852-1900
NBI



1848-1878

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office includes images for the town churches including St Margaret. See also

St Alban baptisms and Marriages,St Erkenwald, St Patrick (formerly the Church of the Ascension) St Paul

Barking Congregational Church, Barking Hospital Upney Lane,Barking meeting (Society of Friends) Bishop's Transcripts burials in parish churchyard, Shaftesbury Society Greatfields Hall, King Edward's Road marriages

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Moravian/United Brethren
  • Particular Baptist
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241361.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Jarvis, Robin.  John Jarvis IV.  History of the family of John Jarvis and Martha Lewis with the following surnames, Mack, Ellis, Wiffen, Russley, Porter: with branches moving to Ely, Wigton, Bury St. Edmunds, Gt. Yarmouth, London, Barking, Essex, and Ewell Surrey. Article dated 1700-1877, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol.9,part 4, pages 235-237. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j new serues v,9. pt. 4 (Dec. 2012)

Poor Law Unions

Romford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Barking on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted: date accessed: 22 May 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  4. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  5. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 19 April 2012.
  6. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 22:39.
  • This page has been accessed 12,287 times.