Barlborough, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Barlborough, Derbyshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barlborough, Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Worksop PLU
Registration District Worksop
Records begin
Parish registers: 1648
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Staveley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARLBOROUGH (St. James), a parish, in the union of Worksop, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 8 miles (N. E. by E.) from Chesterfield Barlborough St James the Greater is an Ancient parish.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.

Church records

Barlborough parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Barlborough St James (1648) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1890-1912
  NONE
1903-1912
  NONE
1809-1912
  NONE


Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1490 has deposited registers Bap 1648-1668, 1676-1965 Mar 1648-1668,1676-1967 Burials1648-1668, 1676-1974 Banns 1754-1848, 1938-1990

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1664-1852 Mar 1884-1853 Burials 1664-1852

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

  • Worksop

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 145-148. Date accessed: 08 April 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 683 times.