Barling Magna, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Barling Magna, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Barling Magna, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barling Magna, Essex
All Saints Barling Magna, Essex .jpg
All Saints Barling Magna, Essex .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Rochford
Registration District Rochford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1555
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canewdon
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral Post-1844 Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARLING MAGNA or BARLING (All Saints), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Rochford, S. division of Essex, is 4½ miles (E. S. E.).[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Barling Magna, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Barling Magna, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1695-1773
ESSEX 1555-1602
1695-1986
1695-1950 1693-1957
NBI 1695-1950
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241375.


Poor Law Unions

Rochford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Barling on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 February 2016, at 19:52.
  • This page has been accessed 7,219 times.