Barlings, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Barlings, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Barlings, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barlings, Lincolnshire
Barlings St Edward Lincolnshire.jpg
Barlings St Edward Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lawress
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln PLU
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: 1626
Bishop's Transcripts: 1559
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lawres
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARLINGS (St. Edward), a parish, in the wapentake with the township of Langworth. An abbey for Præmonstratensian canons, dedicated to St. Mary, was founded in 1154. [1]

There is a church at Langworth St Hugh see Stainton by Langworth, Lincolnshire BARLINGS (St. Edward), a parish, in the wapentake of Lawress, parts of Lindsey, union and county of Lincoln, 6½ miles (E. N. E.) from Lincoln.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the North East sub-district of Lincoln registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Barlings Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Barlings


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438761.


Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Barlings/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 145-148. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 17:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,732 times.