Barlow, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Barlow, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Barlow, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barlow, Derbyshire
Barlow St Lawrence Derbyshire.jpg
Barlow St Lawrence Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield PLU
Registration District Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1668
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brampton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Barlow is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1724 from Staveley, Derbyshire Ancient Parish.

For researchers, here is an important 19th century historical perspective:

BARLOW, a chapelry, in the parish of Staveley, union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 3¾ miles (N. W. by W.) from Chesterfield.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241298.


Church records

Barlow parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Barlow St Lawrence (1573) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Barlow St Lawrence was previoulsy a chapel of Staveley, Derbyshire and included Little Barlow and Dronfield, Derbyshire

Derbyshire Record Office reference D975 has deposited registers Bap 1573- 1939 Mar 1573-1942 Burials 1573-1900 Banns 1754-1799, 1824-1940

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1668-1864Mar 1668-1837 Burials 1668-1864

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Chesterfield

Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Barlow on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 145-148. Date accessed: 02 July 2103.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 20:12.
  • This page has been accessed 2,508 times.