Barnwell All Saints, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Barnwell All Saints, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barnwell All Saints, Northamptonshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Huxloe; Polebrook
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Oundle PLU
Registration District Oundle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707; Separate records exist for Barnwell St Andrew beginning 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oundle
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARNWELL (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Oundle, hundred of Huxloe, N. division of the county of Northampton, 2¼ miles (S. E. by E.) from Oundle; containing 140 inhabitants. The parish extends to the border of Huntingdonshire, which bounds it on the east. The living is a parish rectory, united to that of Barnwell St Andrew (which also see), in 1821.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Marriages from 1650 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438877.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 153-158. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 April 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:34.
  • This page has been accessed 717 times.