Barrow upon Soar, LeicestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes


Barrow upon Soar, Leicestershire
Holy Trinity Barrow upon Soar Leicestershire.jpg
Holy Trinity Barrow upon Soar Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote; West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Barrow upon Soar PLU
Registration District Barrow upon Soar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARROW-UPON-SOAR (Holy Trinity), a parish,and the head of a union, partly in the hundred of East,but chiefly in that of West, Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester. The parish consists of Barrow proper; a part of the market-town of Mountsorrel; the chapelries of Quorndon and Woodhouse, and the consolidated chapelry or district of St. Paul's, WoodhouseEaves. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Baptists, Primitive Methodists, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Barrow upon Soar, Leicestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Barrow upon Soar, Leicestershire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1563-1870
1563-1910
1563-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk


Non Conformist records available at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office include:

Barrow on Soar Methodist Marriages 1951-1969 reference N/M/207/322

Barrow on Soar Wesleyan Methodist (Loughborough Circuit) Baptisms 1853-1876 reference N/M/207/182
Barrow on Soar Methodist Baptism 1868-1968 reference DE 5896


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438744.

Poor Law Unions

Barrow upon Soar Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 158-161. Date accessed: 16 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 July 2014, at 23:52.
  • This page has been accessed 852 times.