Barton, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Barton, Cambridgeshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Barton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barton, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wetherley
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Chesterton PLU
Registration District Chesterton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1688
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barton
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Chesterton, hundred of Wetherley, county of Cambridge, 3½ miles (W. S. W.) from Cambridge. Baptist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Barton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Church of England: Barton, St. Peter

  • Parish registers for Babraham, 1600-1851 are on FHL Fiche # 6360268 at the Family History Library or through a Family History Center.
  • Bishop Transcripts for Barton, 1600-1851 are on FHL Film # 1818362 at the Family History Library or through a Family History Center.
Non-Conformist

Baptist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Barton. These records are located at the Cambridgeshire Archives.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241226.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Barton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 18:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,507 times.