Barwick in Elmett, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Barwick in Elmet, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Barwick in Elmet

Contents

Parish History

BARWICK-IN-ELMETT (All Saints), a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Skyrack, West Riding, Yorkshire, 7 miles (N. E. by E.) from Leeds; containing 2275 inhabitants, of whom 1836 are in Barwick township. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Barwick in Elmett exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AO = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BARWICK IN ELMETT PARISH (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1600-1845

1600-1846

1837-1838

JMI None

1663-1837

None

FMP (£) 1600-1812

1600-1812

1600-1812

PALL None
1790-1812
None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1653.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464268.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 164-168. Date accessed: 07 January 2014.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 April 2014, at 03:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,561 times.