Bassersdorf parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Bassersdorf parish

Guide to Bassersdorf parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

Bassersdorf also includes the civil parish of Nürensdorf.

History

Place Names

Locations within Bassersdorf

Auen
Aufgent
Ausser-Birchwil
Bächli
Bachtobel
Baltenswil
Bannholz
Bassersdorf
Berg

Berghof
Birchwil
Breite
Breitenloo
Eich
Eichmühle
Fallmatten
Hakab
Hard

Hauptmannsreben
Homberg
Juchen
Kilberg
Kleinhaus
Kreuzstrasse
Lucketen
Mösli
Mühle

Nürensdorf
Oberwil
Roswies
Schlauch
Schleife
Untereigen
Wiesbrugg
Wiesental

Surrounding Parishes

Brütten
Dietlikon
Embrach
Kloten
Lindau
Wangen

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

The following censuses are available for Bassersdorf:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185140 1 357
1637 1185142 2 367
1640 1185144 1 47
1643 1185146 2 887
1646 1185148 2 267
1649 1185149 2 315
1657 1185179 1 100
1663 1185179 2 391
1670 1185154 2 713
1683 1185160 1 505
1689 1185162 2 559
1695 1185168 1 209
1700 1185168 1 261
1710 1185170 2 219

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Bassersdorf families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Bassersdorf prior to 1875:

Altorfer
Angst
Bänninger
Binder
Briner
Brunner
Burkhart
Dübendorfer
Durisch
Enderli
Fürst
Grimm (from Hinwil)
Hug
Keller
Kindhauser (from Kleinandelfingen)
Leimbacher
Lienhard/Lienhart
Meili
Morf
Müller
Peier
Peter
Schellenberg
Schenkel (from Brütten)
Schmid
Spörri (from Brütten)
Städeli
Thalmann
Vetter
Weiss
Wettstein

Related Sources

Bassersdorf's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 23:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,049 times.