Batsford, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Batsford, Worcestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Batsford, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Batsford, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kiftsgate
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Shipston on Stour PLU
Registration District Shipston on Stour
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

For more information and records see Batsford,, Gloucestershire.

Parish History

Batsford is an ancient parish located partly in the county of Worcestershire and partly in the county of Gloucestershire.[1]


BATSFORD, or Battisford, a parish in the district of Shipston-on-Stour, and county of Gloucester; near the Stratford railway and the Fosse way, 2 miles NW of Moreton. The church was rebuilt in 1862.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
BATSFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1565-1812 None None None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464636.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 01 October 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 01 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,968 times.