Battle, BreconshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
BATTLE, a parish, in the hundred of Merthyr-Cynog, union and county of Brecknock, South Wales, 2¾ miles (N. W. by W.) from Brecknock. This place, though traditionally said to have derived its name from a battle, in which the last of the Brechinian princes, Bleddyn ab Maenyrch, was defeated and slain by Bernard de Newmarch, is, with greater probability, supposed to have been so called in honour of Battle Abbey, in the county of Sussex, to which the monks of Brecknock, who owned the whole or greater part of the parish, were subject. The church, dedicated to St. Cynog, is supposed to have been built by the prior and convent of St. John's, Brecknock, at the commencement of the fourteenth century, when Battle first became parochial.
Battle Church is in the Diocese of Swansea and Brecon, in the community of Yscir in the county of Powys. It is located at Ordnance Survey national grid reference SO0082630974. For additional information see Brecknockshire Churches Survey.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464300. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- This page was last modified on 23 January 2014, at 17:11.
- This page has been accessed 187 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More