Bauma parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Bauma parish

Guide to Bauma parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Contents

Geography

History

The parish of Bauma was established in 1651 from the parishes of Bäretswil and Pfäffikon.

Place Names

Locations within Bauma

Akau
Allenwil
Altlandenberg
Au
Auwies
Bächi
Bauma
Bergli
Bliggenswil
Blitterswil
Boden
Böndler
Dillhaus
Felmis
Fluh
Grube
Grunholz
Gubel
Gublen
Halde
Haselhalde
Heiletsegg
Held
Hinter-Bad

Hinter-Erlen
Hinter-Lüwies
Hinter-Schindlet
Hinter-Sillisegg
Hinter-Tiefenbach
Hinterwies
Höckler
Höhle
Holderbaum
Homberg
Hörnen
Juckern
Kämmerli
Laubberg
Linde
Lipperschwendi
Loch
Mittler-Wolfensberg
Morgenwiese
Musterplatz
Neugut
Nideltobel
Niederau
Niederdürstelen

Ober-Widenwald
Ober-Wolfensberg
Ottschwand
Plakten
Pünt
Ramsel
Riset
Rittweg
Rösli
Säcke
Saland
Schlössli
Schönegg
Schönenberg
Schürli
Schwandelbach
Schwendi
Seewadel
Sommerau
Sonnenhalde
Sonnenrain
Sonnenwies
Stockwies

Stoffel
Sülch
Uerschen
Undalen
Unter-Bräch
Unter-Wald
Unter-Widenwald
Unter-Wolfensberg
Vorder-Bad
Vorder-Bräch
Vorder-Erlen
Vorder-Lüwies
Vorder-Schindlet
Vorder-Sillisegg
Vorder-Tiefenbach
Wald
Wallenbach
Weid
Weidli
Wellenau
Widen
Wilen
Zelgli

Surrounding Parishes

Bäretswil
Fischenthal
Hittnau
Pfäffikon
Sternenberg
Wila
Wildberg

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

For censuses prior to 1651, see the parishes of Bäretswil and Pfäffikon. The following censuses are available for Bauma:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1652 1185150 3 1007
1657 1185179 1 60
1663 1185179 2 387
1670 1185154 2 349
1678 1185157 2 171
1683 1185159 2 507
1691 1185163 2 297
1700 1185167 1 829
1709 1185172 1 657
1732 1185175 2 503

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Bauma families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Bauma belongs to the Bauma civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Bauma
Dorfstrasse 41
Postfach 232
CH-8494 Bauma

Tel: +41 52 397 70 60

email: zivilstandsamt@bauma.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Bauma prior to 1875:

Bosshard
Diener
Egli
Graf
Grob (1870)
Guyer
Jucker
Kägi
Kappeler
Knecht (1863, from Wald)
Kündig
Lattmann

Ottiker (1863, from
     Sternenberg)
Pfenninger
Rebsamen
Rüegg
Schaufelberger
Schelldorfer
Schellenberg (1861)
Scheuchzer
Schnurrenberger
Schoch
Schönenberger

Senn
Spörri
Sprecher
Trachsler
Vontobel
Wartmann
Wintenberger
Wirth
Wismer
Wolfensberger
Zeber (1873, from Germany)

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 February 2015, at 17:45.
  • This page has been accessed 544 times.