Baxterley, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Baxterley, Warwickshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  WarwickshireGotoarrow.png  Warwickshire Parishes

Baxterley, Warwickshire
Baxterley Church Warwickshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Atherstone PLU
Registration District Atherstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1542
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Baxterley, is a parish in Atherstone district, Warwickshire; it is 2 miles ENE of Kingsbury railway station, and 3½ miles W S of Atherstone. The post office, Kingsbury, under Tamworth.[1] Baxterley is an Ancient Parish although the church is situated in nearby Wood End The church has no dedicatory name.

This small grade II listed parish church is of square plan.The windows in the  12th–century chancel are small. The church has been extended in the 13th, 14th and 19th–centuries. The font is 15th–century.

The church dates from Norman Times and was built around 1200 AD with additions built throughout its life. The foundations of the nave Date from the 14th century. The base of the small tower was built around 1540 but the top section is early 17th century. The church was extensively rebuilt c. 1875 by Paull and Bickerdike.

Hugh Latimer, The Bishop of Oxford preached a sermon at Baxterley Church on Christmas Day 1552. his niece, Mary Glover lived in Mancetter, nearby.

A 13th century wooden crozier head was found embedded in the wall in 1958.

The parish is part of a united group including Kingsbury, Warwickshire, Merevale , Hurley and Wood End, within Polesworth deanery and Aston Arch Deanery.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Baxterley, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3][4]
Baxterley, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1659-1812 1659-1812 1659-1812 1659-1812 1659-1812 1659-1812
AC 1813-1899 1813-1899 1754-1910 1754-1910

Bishop's Transcripts deposited at the Lichfield Record Office Bap 1542-1848 Marr 1542-1842 Bur 1542-1847

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464170.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date accessed November 21, 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 26 August 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 May 2015, at 21:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,460 times.