Bayfield County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bayfield County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Bayfield County, Wisconsin|
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
|Founded||April 12, 1866|
|Address|| Bayfield County Courthouse|
117 E 5th Street
Washburn, WI 54891-9464
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- List of Bayfield County Cemeteries by Township WIGenWeb project
- Bayfield County Tombstone Photograph Pages USGenWeb Archives
- 1890 Veterans Schedule WIGenWeb project
- 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
- 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
- 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
- 1885 Wisconsin State Census Search indexed census. Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
- 1895 Wisconsin State Census Index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
- 1905 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants
- 1850 Federal Census LaPointe County, Wisconsin (LaPointe County was renamed Bayfield County) USGenWeb Archives
- 1860 LaPointe County Federal Census WIGenWeb project
- 1870 Bayfield County Federal Census WIGenWeb project
- 1880 Federal Census, Bayfield County, Wisconsin (ED 218: File 1 of 2) USGenWeb Archives
- 1880 Federal Census, Bayfield County, Wisconsin (ED 218: File 2 of 2) USGenWeb Archives
- 1920 Federal Census, Bayfield County, Wisconsin (ED 36: File 1 of 4) USGenWeb Archives
- 1920 Federal Census, Bayfield County, Wisconsin (ED 36: File 2 of 4) USGenWeb Archives
- 1920 Federal Census, Bayfield County, Wisconsin (ED 36: File 3 of 4) USGenWeb Archives
- 1920 Federal Census, Bayfield County, Wisconsin (ED 36: File 4 of 4) USGenWeb Archives
- Bayfield Business and Miscellaneous Directory, 1888 WIGenWeb project
- Washburn Business and Miscellaneous Directory, 1888 WIGenWeb project
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Land and Property
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database: Bayfield County USGenWeb Archives
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin
- Family Maps of Bayfield County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
- Bayfield County WWI Army Casualties USGenWeb Archives
World War II, 1941-1945
- Bayfield County Army Enlistees, Surnames Aho-Justice USGenWeb Archives
- Bayfield County Army Enlistees, Surnames Kacvinsky-Szczygiel USGenWeb Archives
- Bayfield County Army Enlistees, Surnames Taipale-Zurian USGenWeb Archives
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1800 – 1987 Wisconsin Wills and Probate Records 1800-1987 at Ancestry.com — images and index $
- 1848 – 1948 Wisconsin Probate Estate Files 1848-1948 at FamilySearch — images
Bayfield Heritage Assoc
117 S 1st Ave
P.O. Box 813
Ashland/ Bayfield County Tree Climbers
Rt 1, Box 139
Mason, WI 54856
Moquah Heritage Society
Route 1, Box 35-B
Washburn, WI 54891
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Bayfield County Clerk
117 E 5th Street
Washburn, WI 54891-9464
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, and death records from 1850;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records from 1889, probate records
from 1870 and court records from 1888
- 1826 - 1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1826 - 1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1836 - 1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1867 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1835 - 1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1959 - 1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Bayfield County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Bayfield County, GenWeb project
- Bayfield County Archives USGenWeb Archives
- Bayfield County Resources
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Bayfield County, Wisconsin, p.755
- This page was last modified on 10 February 2016, at 18:53.
- This page has been accessed 11,985 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News